Thoughts on leaving Fairyland

It's rare the place that looks better every time you visit. Especially an aging children's theme park in an impoverished city. But that's been my experience of Oakland's indispensable Children's Fairyland.

The park is designed, really, for the pre-school set. So with Ada and Michael now aged 8 and 6, yesterday's visit was likely our last. I was glad, then, to find it looking better than it ever has before. 

The unique, modest and non-branded attractions -- like Willie the Whale -- all seem to have been freshly painted.

Even the little figures hiding up in the trees were in great shape.
 

And all the retouching seems to have been done by an artist with real skill this time.

But what was truly extraordinary was the quality of the landscaping.  Many of the borders were spectacular, like this one by the carrousel.  

The inspired organic, mostly native plantings were fairly new when we first visited six or seven years ago.  Now they are all grown in.  

The individual plant choices are delightful.

Even small pieces of fill in out of the way parts of the park are full of interest.

 

The park seems to have some sort of a sourcing deal with local growers Annie's Annuals. Their plants are on sale near the entrance. I bought me a dark red Fairy's Wand, of course. It didn't mention the variety on the label, but I hope it's this one. 

Gardens are notoriously prone to atrophy. Who knows how long Fariyland will be able to keep up a landscape (and hardscape, too) of this quality. But it was consoling to take our leave of the place at a time when it's so obviously thriving.
3 responses
Beautiful photos, Simon! I'm so glad Ada and Michael enjoyed this magical place again. I have a feeling you might be able to slip more visits in!

When I was a child, I had an English friend who loved the idea of fairies, and I remember the hours she and I spent creating houses for the fairies, with little bits of raspberry jam on bread put in to tempt them to visit.

Hi Simon, Thank you for your kind words and your acute observations. I did want to let you know that the plants that we sell are propagated here at Fairyland from what is growing in the landscape. So what you see is what you get! Your Fairy Wand is a deep pink, though probably not quite as dark as the variety that Annie's sells.
Thanks, Robin, for the clarification. Did you ever have a connection with Annie's Annuals or did I get that completely wrong? If you let me know I'll update the post.