Don't tell the kids . . .

but I just threw out all of their candy. All six pounds of it.

In a fit of organizing zeal I decided to clean out a pantry cupboard and found multiple goodie bags filled with mini-eggs, jelly beans, small boxes of Nerds, Tootsie Rolls and much, much more, the wages of at least one Halloween, last Easter and several pinata-graced birthday parties since.

By the time I was done I had an extraordinarily heavy bag. I was curious to know exactly how heavy, so I weighed it. It was six pounds of junk.
 
Thankfully, when it comes to chemically-modified sugar confections, Ada and Michael are hoarders and forgetters. They know they haven't eaten everything they've collected, but don't quite remember what's left.
 
In the end I kept a few jelly beans and several of the mini chocolate eggs most likely to actually contain chocolate for when they demand to see their hoarde. The rest is in the trash.