Bean Hollow (Verse)

Live braced
Against the wave and
Nothing will shake you.
You might be made of
Stone.

Sit without a care
And the waves
One day
Will sweep you full away.

At the beach I warn my children.
“Waves come in sets,” I say.
“Always keep your eye on the sea.”

I point to a family on the far rocks – foolhardy,
Adventuring,
Spattered suddenly with spray.
I’m biblical in my admonition.

At Bean Hollow
Nature offers us her shells, her sediments, her sand,
The many glories of her earth-ages and her relentless energies besides;

Layered conglomerates – twice built into rock –
Deep purple kelp ripped that hour from its mooring,
Young fish and crabs in pools,
Minute jadeite pebbles,
And outcrops of a particular
Grey-brown stone
That wind and salt water, over eons, reduces – here – to
Matrices, to
Hand-scoop coves that terrace the cliffs with
Shelters –
Impossible, organic pods,
Tumbling
In a honey-combed
Fall. 

I wax pedagogic to the children
On themes of time and weathering.
I forget to ask – do you find these beautiful?

I’m ignored, anyway, for a game
Conjured from the air. 

I keep my eye on the sea.

A whale slinks by, heading the wrong way for the time of year.
Pelicans patrol.  A seal spy-hops up a moment
And then moves on. 

I let the children climb,  
Climb with them.  We keep
Our balance,
Just. 

I return to my watch, caught some by the sun.  
Careworn, too.  Glad to be the father.
Happy to pause.  Sad to never be the 
Same age as these play-full children – in love with their mother,
Amazed that they are at all, worried for what they’ll face.

I keep my eye on the sea.
I photograph the interstitial scene.

Ada runs to the time-hollowed rock.  In each small cove she
Places treasure:

A flower,
A shell,
Five perfect stones.
1 response
Here I love the humor of the dad who wants to share all sagacity but is still clever enough to know he's being ignored and doesn't mind, in fact, takes great lesson from it. Or at least, good lesson from it.
The deep purple kelp stanza is incredibly rich in detail and makes me think how far away from the tide pools are me and my own kids in the great sand curve of Linda Mar beach in Pacifica, slotted into our various wet suits, consumed entirely by the endless sets of waves--and shrieks and salty eyes and stringy hair--as we ride, jump, ride.